Hallucinating

img_8293I remember changing my calendar over to May, and smiling tired at the face of the new month as it smiled back at me, standing in the 6:26 morning light without sleep and looking askance at the picture of myself in the long mirror on the door, where a handle should be. I thought, here it is: one constant in a world of uncertain things, this still familiar picture on my wall.

Two days later I couldn’t remember what the picture was, anymore. I locked the front door on my way in and flipped on the light to find April, solidly, looking back.

I tried to remember if I had been dreaming, but I didn’t remember having slept, so- what was there left to do? I went to the wall and put April on its end, looking up (again) at (another) familiar face. There was nothing else I could do- so I left it staring back at me, and I wondered- what else have I been imagining?

Leave a Reply

